LOOK: List of Senators Who Voted "YES" and "NO" for Martial Law , Revealed

Most of the senators expressed their support to the martial law declaration of President Rodrigo Duterte in the whole island of Mindanao.
Fifteen out of 23 senators, said that the Senate Resolution No. 388  also known as the martial law in Mindanao signed on Monday is “satisfactory, constitutional, and in accordance with the law”
“The Senate hereby supports fully Proclamation No. 216 and finds no compelling reason to revoke the same,” the resolution said.
The 15 senators who voted in favor of the martial law are all the members of the majority bloc of the senate.
“The acts committed by the Maute group are an open attempt to remove from the allegiance to the Philippine Government the part of Mindanao and deprive the Chief Executive of its powers and prerogatives to enforce laws of the land and to maintain public order and safety in Mindanao, hence constitutes the crime of rebellion,” the resolution read.
Meanwhile, eight senators, all whom belong to the minority bloc, and another two from the majority bloc did not sign the senate resolution.
Senators who voted ‘yes’ for Martial Law in Mindanao:

    1.Senate President Aquilino Pimentel III

    2.Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto

    3.Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III

    4.Sen. Sonny Angara

    5.Sen. Nancy Binay

    6.Sen. JV Ejercito

    7.Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian

    8.Sen. Richard Gordon

    9.Sen. Gringo Honasan

   10.Sen. Panfilo Lacson

   11.Sen. Loren Legarda

   12.Sen. Manny Pacquiao

   13.Sen. Joel Villanueva

   14.Sen. Cynthia Villar

   15.Sen. Miguel Zubiri

Senators who did not sign the Senate Resolution No. 388

    1.Sen. Francis Pangilinan

    2.Sen. Franklin Drilon

    3.Sen. Bam Aquino

    4.Sen. Leila De Lima

    5.Sen. Risa Hontiveros

    6.Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV

    7.Sen. Grace Poe

    8.Sen. Francis Escudero

Senator Escudero explained that he did not sign the resolution because he didn’t receive a copy. He also said that the 1987 Constitution does not require the said resolution.
Senators from the minority bloc also tried to block the declaration of Martial Law of President Rodrigo Duterte after they filed on Monday a resolution to ask the Congress in a joint session and discuss the suspension of the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus in Mindanao.
Senate Resolution No. 350 was signed by Drilon, Pangilinan, Aquino IV, Hontiveros, De Lima and Trillanes and they said that the joint session was necessary to determine the “constitutional and factual validity” of the Proclamation No. 216 signed by President Rodrigo Duterte following the attacks of the Maute group in Marawi City.
Liberal Party President Kiko Pangilinan also vowed to oppose nationwide martial law declaration if President Rodrigo Duterte plans to do it.
“While there may be isolated terrorist acts in these areas, there exists no Visayas-wide nor a Luzon-wide invasion or rebellion to merit the declaration of martial law as allowed under our Constitution,” Pangilinan said.
“Absent any nationwide rebellion or invasion, we will vigorously oppose a nationwide martial law declaration,” he added.
According to the Proclamation 216. President Rodrigo Duterte forced to declare Martial Law in the whole island of Mindanao because the attack of the Maute Terrorist Group in Marawi City was the start of their mission to build an ISIS stronghold in the Philippines.
The report also said that “the recent attack shows the capability of the Maute group and other rebel groups to sow terror, and cause death and damage to property not only in Lanao del Sur but also in other parts of Mindanao”

No comments

Powered by Blogger.